12. Station: Krupp´sche Halle / Besucherzentrum

Alfred Krupp and his summer residence in Sayn

This red-brick building represents the final phase of the Sayn ironworks. It is known as the Krupp Building, after Alfred Krupp who, in 1865, purchased the Sayn ironworks with its ore mines in the Westerwald along with the Mülhofen ironworks. He later added the Bendorf ironworks and collieries, and the Hermannshütte ironworks in Neuwied. These acquisitions created a close link between the 'old' iron industry in the Middle Rhine/Westerwald region and the 'new' industrial district in the Ruhr. 

When the Mülhofen ironworks on the Rhine was expanded, because it was more conveniently located for pig iron production, work at the Sayner ironworks was reduced to casting machine parts and ornate iron products.

In 1909 a new engine room was opened: today's Krupp Building. In 1927 the Krupp company sold off the Sayner Hütte to the municipality of Sayn. 

The Krupps were not only involved in the region for economic reasons, they also had social and private interests here. Hunting parties with invited guests from politics, business and science brought the 'outside world' to the region.

Furthermore the Krupp concern converted a former machine factory on today's Koblenz-Olper-Straße into a recreation centre for its white-collar workers. Hiking trails and viewing platforms were built. Soon so many weekend trippers and summer visitors were flocking to Sayn that its inns and hotels were struggling to cater for them all.